top of page

"Shitty First Drafts" Blog Post

In Anne Lamotts piece she discussed the inspiration that "shitty first drafts" can give to an author. While in the process of pouring out the mayhem of thoughts and ideas onto a page the content can get muddled and become rather foolish; Lamott cites this as a means to build something great. I found that idea quite provoking. Upon reading that I thought back upon the many times during my first couple years in high school where I found myself finishing up something last minute and being disappointed overall with my work. This disappointment wasn't over the feeling that I felt like I had written a pile of crap but more out of the fact that there'd be a segment of the paper that I loved but never capitalized on enough. In almost all of those cases my problem could have been relieved if I had performed the simple task of hammering out a first draft.


bottom of page